• Welcome to Pet Natter! The official forum of TheHamsterHouse.com We'd love for you to be part of our community of helpful and friendly pet lovers. Click here to register now. It's really quick and easy.

The forum is a welcoming place for everyone, whether you're a pet expert or a complete newbie. So jump right in and say hello, ask a question, or offer some advice.

We hope you enjoy being part of Pet Natter. Join now.

What's the lifespan of most hamsters?

JPacker

Reaction score
I hear hamsters don't live too long, but how long do they usually live for? I heard they live a few years or so, but is that true? Can you keep hamsters alive for a lot longer if taken care of good?

Berry

Reaction score
It really depends.

I say you could get up to two+ years. Most likely no more than 3. However, most hamsters nowadays come from large breeding mills that breed for quantity, not quality. So the genetics are really bad and some hamsters die randomly without a known cause. I say the average amongst hamster owners would be 1 1/2 year or so.

You can, however; buy a hamster from an ethically sourced breeder in which case you will hopefully surpass a year, maybe getting up to 2-3 years.

And I believe roborovski's are the species that live longest on average. I say they are more likely to get to 3 years than any other hamster.

Good care can certainly provide better health, but it's not going to fix genetics. I know numerous owners who adopted their ham, and the hamster died before even reaching 1. The hams originally came from pet stores, hence breeding mills. I also know someone who's long-haired syrian lived to be 2years 9 months. So pretty old for a pet hamster. (And he did come from a petstore) Though he did have lots of problems in his life and they spent lots of money on vet care.