• Welcome to Pet Natter! The official forum of TheHamsterHouse.com We'd love for you to be part of our community of helpful and friendly pet lovers. Click here to register now. It's really quick and easy.

The forum is a welcoming place for everyone, whether you're a pet expert or a complete newbie. So jump right in and say hello, ask a question, or offer some advice.

We hope you enjoy being part of Pet Natter. Join now.

Hamster accessories

Reaction score
When buying a hamster there are many products out there for hamsters. Just because is says for hamsters doesn't mean they are safe for them.

Cages:
Hamster like to run around at night and the cages sold at pet stores don't offer enough floor space for them to run even when cages are attached or have extra levels. The recommended minimum size for all hamster breeds is a 40g long tank or DIY bin cage. A too small of cage can lead to boredom and bar chewing. Remember bigger is always better.

Tunnels:
The tunnels made for hamster cages such as the crittertrail tunnels are too small for the larger Syrian hamster (teddy bear, black bear, panda bear, golden) as they can get stuck inside. Instead I recommend large pvc pipes as they are bigger and your hamster won't get stuck in them.

Wheels:
Hamsters love to run on their wheels at night so having one is a must.
Wire/mesh wheels aren't safe as they can get their foot stuck or get bumble foot. Also if the wheel isn't big enough hamsters can get spine deformities and injuries. The recommended minimum wheel size is 10 inch for Syrians, 8 inch for dwarfs and 6 inch for robo dwarfs.

Bedding:
Pine and cedar bedding can cause respiratory illness and allergies. It is recommended to use aspen shavings or carefresh bedding.
The cotton nesting material isn't safe as it can get tangled around their legs or neck and cause impaction if ingested. Toilet paper makes a great nesting material and its also cheap.

Mineral and salt licks: