• Welcome to Pet Natter! The official forum of TheHamsterHouse.com We'd love for you to be part of our community of helpful and friendly pet lovers. Click here to register now. It's really quick and easy.

The forum is a welcoming place for everyone, whether you're a pet expert or a complete newbie. So jump right in and say hello, ask a question, or offer some advice.

We hope you enjoy being part of Pet Natter. Join now.

Bananas or Apples sparingly?

Emmalope

Reaction score
In the literature we just got with our new hamster, they starred the foods that should be given less frequently. We can't tell if the star goes with the apples or bananas. Also, since there are sooooo many hamster treats on the market, what are the good, bad and ugly? Bonus if the treats are also good for guinea pigs!

Berry

Reaction score
All safe fruits should be given in moderation as treats for hamsters. Same with vegetables and other treats.

Since fruit tends to have lots of natural sugars and water, only give a small piece every few days, for a syrian a bit more will be okay, but for dwarfs you really need to limit it.

The best treats for hamsters are honestly fruits, vegetables, seeds, etc. Commercial hamster treats such as yogurt drops shouldn't be fed at all imo. At most once a month. My hamsters' favorite treat is millet, but she also enjoys sunflower seeds :)

Treats overall should be less than 10% of your hamsters' diet in order to maintain a good GA level of what they are consuming.

So to answer the question, both apples and bananas should be fed in moderation.

Emmalope

Reaction score
And just so I can verify with my 10 year old - that's one moderate item per week, not one of each moderate item, right? Banana or Apple, not banana AND apple?

Berry

Reaction score
And just so I can verify with my 10 year old - that's one moderate item per week, not one of each moderate item, right? Banana or Apple, not banana AND apple?